Author Topic: Warped Rotors on a new bike!!!  (Read 8077 times)

Offline Scaffolder

Re: Warped Rotors on a new bike!!!
« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2013, 07:57:10 AM »
Hi guys!  New guys here, just outside Detroit, MI--the Motor City.

I was a volunteer motor officer (motorcycle cop) for the 2007-2012 seasons, and it's standard practice for us to ride hours without ever putting a right foot down--you put your left foot down at lights, because the right is standing on your brake.  (You also are never in neutral while riding--ever--in case you need to get outta the way fast!)  Holding the brake leaves your lights on, and prevents rolling around. 

My point is,... I'm riding my '12 Kawi now like I rode my Harley, left-down at lights/right on brake, and after 400 miles on this new bike, I now have a rear brake squeak, and the pulsing other folks are describing while braking.  I also believe the brakes are very 'grabby' at a certain point after initially not providing much force at all, like they suddenly jump in force, but... that's another story.

Did they seriously do such a poor job picking discs for this bike that they're wearing out/warping this fast?  I mean, if you can warp a rotor just sitting at a light because 'that part of the rotor isn't cooling as fast,'... someone FAILED, miserably.

Anyway,... consider my '12 possibly afflicted too.  There's not much else to complain about, but that's certainly one thing.

PMC

This sounds exactly like my bike. I like to hold my right foot on the brake lever, but since I've owned the linked brakes models, I've been trying to adapt different techniques so I don't make K-ACT mad. Or K-TRAC.

I love these bikes and this is still the only problem I have with them. I sure do hope I don't have to get 3 sets of rotors to each set of tires. It will really limit the miles I get to put on this year.
Joel from Maine.

Offline Pokey

• Arena
  • WESTERVILLE OHIO 'Twit"
« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2013, 09:18:55 AM »