Author Topic: Ebola victim in the U.S.  (Read 26609 times)

Offline Strawboss

Ebola victim in the U.S.
« on: August 02, 2014, 07:48:45 PM »
I think this is a terrible idea. All the safeguards in the world are not going to contain this virus. Being a paramedic I know about transfer of disease, "its difficult for the common person to get it as its spread by direct contact of urine, feces, or blood, so people that are health care workers and first responders are most at risk". That's the official line to subdue panic. That line covers just about every single virus on earth. Bad idea. And while we're at it, why not post the address and security codes and the guard schedule and room number where the victim who has contracted the most deadly virus known to man that has no vaccine or cure. Its so secure we're told, like tesla's computers right? Bad idea. It will come to haunt us in the future.
COG 5852-AMA Life 302525-NRA 9098599-SASS
2001 Concours-1982 KZ550A-1979 Triumph Bonneville-1995 Honda SA50

Offline B.D.F.

• It's only really cold if you fall down in it.
    • C-14 farkles you almost cannot ride without.
Re: Ebola victim in the U.S.
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 08:43:08 PM »
I agree about the virus- the most lethal disease known with some strains showing a 90% fatality rate.

As to bringing it to the US, that is a 'mixed bag' IMO. The virus is not easily transmitted and we (the US ) certainly does have the capacity to handle the virus. Besides that, the CDC already has it in at least two places in the US so it is here and being 'tinkered' with before that physician was brought here. On the other side, it does have that incredibly high lethality rate and there is no treatment for it (other than for gross symptoms like dehydration but the course of the disease itself cannot be altered by man). And of course the Russians have had it 'get away' a couple of times in scientific accidents..... which I would like to think would be far less likely to happen here.