Author Topic: New Black 2015 in Cali  (Read 9543 times)

Offline Wandrng

• Wandering the back roads of the USA & life
    • Wandering Back Roads
New Black 2015 in Cali
« on: August 12, 2015, 01:08:36 PM »
Hello all!

I rented a 2009 in 2010 for a 4 day adventure. Decided I wanted one, big time. 5 years pass...

On June 13th of 2015, a gorgeous Saturday, I rolled out of the dealers directly into a 200 mile ride into the foothills at the base of California's central valley section of the Sierras with my new and long dreamed of Kawasaki Concours 14. The 2015 black version. I had the 600 mile break in covered in 4 days. As she sits in the garage today, there are 6920 miles on the ODO - including a 4842.3 mile trip to Texas and back (from central Cali).

I found a bunch of valuable info on the forum while prepping for the trip(s) - Thanks all for the great info. And now I've joined the forum and can hopefully contribute some back. I've been riding for 20 years, been away for a year, and am back with a vengeance.  I got the Concours to wander the US visiting people and places.

From that very first 200 mile ride on pickup day. The Concours saw the old buildings in Coulterville and the meadows and hills of Greely Hill before it ever saw it's new home.

Still on the break in - I rode over to the the delta area where it was a little cooler

I finished the break in with a favorite trip of mine - east on Hwy 108 over Sonora Pass and return west over Hwy 120 Tioga Pass with the views in Yosemite. I stopped for the obligatory photo of Halfdome.

Finally! Break in complete!! I headed off for the foothills again, this time aimed right at Highway 49 from Coulterville to Mariposa - an awesome piece of asphalt I am lucky to live near. Sweet twists and sweepers.