Author Topic: Here's the plan-ride 5k miles to remote Canada on the wrong bike.  (Read 1645 times)

Offline gregman_1

So I've been researching and planning this trip for almost two years now (at the time I started, I was living in New Jersey and had an XR650 supermoto).

From Atlanta, up to Norfolk, Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, across the Delmarva peninsula, ferry to Jersey, through Jersey, NYC, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine, across the border into New Brunswick, to Nova Scotia, ferry to Newfoundland, across NL, ferry to Blanc Sablon in the corner of Quebec, then the Trans Labrador Highway to Goose Bay, then on to Labrador City, down into Quebec City, through Montreal, back down through NY State, Jersey, PA, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North and South Carolina, and back home to Georgia.

I hope you followed that.  In case you weren't counting, that's 14 US states, 4 Canadian territories, 5,000 miles, all in 14 days.

I should probably mention that almost 1,000 of those miles will be on gravel.

This is currently being planned for next Fall at the very earliest.  There are a couple guys and a gal from a local forum who should be joining me (on more suitable motorcycles, like two F650GS's and a Wee Strom).  The more, the merrier so I figured I'd check and see if anyone here was as crazy as I am to take a ZG1000 to the remote wilderness of Canada.

Here's the basic route:

http://g.co/maps/xd6xc

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&gl=us&ie=UTF8&oe=UTF8&msa=0&msid=211591119584877725552.0004b459a7958a5f4c432&ll=48.516604,-58.535156&spn=19.190719,27.586633&t=m&vpsrc=1&output=embed

Yes, i have been and will continue to practice dirt riding and camping using the forestry service roads in the Chattahoochee National Forest to prep myself and the bike for the trip.
2005 Concours-"The Other Woman"
Stock except Canyon Cages and heated grips

Offline So Cal Joe

Re: Here's the plan-ride 5k miles to remote Canada on the wrong bike.