Author Topic: Two minute mod ?  (Read 10465 times)

Offline Bluegray

Two minute mod ?
« on: May 13, 2011, 02:32:00 PM »
Unfortunately the forum died with the wealth of info. A buddy just bought a Connie after seeing
How well mine performed. He was riding a HD no wonder. His bike's PO had the mod and the bike performs great. He showed us where he had placed a portion of sponge in the carb opening. Will the sponge work by itself or will I have to do other things too? I know Steve had done work on his carbs also.

Offline norcalbarney

• I got me an '86
    • Bikes, bro
Re: Two minute mod ?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2011, 02:40:20 PM »
I shoved a used dish sponge in, covering about 2/3rds of the right side.  I have the jet kit coming, but I wanted to try the original method first.  The buttdyno shows increased low end torque, smoother power from 2500 - 4000 rpm, and less noisy when starting cold.

Offline pat8228

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2011, 02:58:36 PM »
Im new to this, and I've never heard of putting a sponge in the carb. What does it do? Will it hurt anything? More information on this would be appreciatied.

YoDoc

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2011, 03:00:08 PM »
I second this more information thing.

Offline norcalbarney

• I got me an '86
    • Bikes, bro
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2011, 03:08:40 PM »
Here's a link to use Google to search the old forums, in this case for "2 minute mod".  You'll need to click where it says Cached.

http://www.google.com/search?rls=en&q=site:concours.org%202%20minute%20mod&hl=en

Hope this helps!

Offline toojeep4u

« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2011, 03:10:09 PM »