Author Topic: Break In Period.  (Read 5395 times)

Offline rrsperry

Re: Break In Period.
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2018, 08:10:42 PM »
Why do they have recommendations? That’s easy. Lawyers and accountants. Kawasaki’s (and every other vehicle manufacturer), main objective is to make sure that the bike makes it out of warranty with as few claims as possible. Easy does it, does it.

If you ask the engineers, (me being one), They’ll  tell you for best performance, you have one chance to seat the rings, it occurs in the first 50 miles.

I’ve been using the motoman procedure for 20 years? Cars and bikes, and never had a problem.
Aprilia
C14
BMW M3
C7 Corvette...
No matter where you go, there you are...

Offline bowtie39

« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2018, 01:06:26 PM »
Why do they have recommendations? That’s easy. Lawyers and accountants. Kawasaki’s (and every other vehicle manufacturer), main objective is to make sure that the bike makes it out of warranty with as few claims as possible. Easy does it, does it.

If you ask the engineers, (me being one), They’ll  tell you for best performance, you have one chance to seat the rings, it occurs in the first 50 miles.

I’ve been using the motoman procedure for 20 years? Cars and bikes, and never had a problem.
Aprilia
C14
BMW M3
C7 Corvette...
Amen and dilley dilley!
'16 Moondust Gray....gone  2001....the keeper

Offline Poseidon

• Arena
« Reply #22 on: February 24, 2018, 06:22:44 PM »

Aprilia
C14
BMW M3
C7 Corvette...

Don't some of the cylinder wall coatings play a part in how long it takes the rings to seat? I'm not sure if the Concours has any kind of coating or not, but some bike manufacturers are using Nikasil or similar coatings on the cylinder walls and from what I have read, it takes the rings longer to seat properly with those coatings.
2017 Concours 14
2016 Victory Magnum
2013 M109R
2016 Can Am Spyder F3T - Wife's bike

Offline Poseidon

• Arena
« Reply #23 on: February 24, 2018, 06:36:52 PM »