Author Topic: Laguna Seca MotoGP trip  (Read 1404 times)

Offline Slideways

Laguna Seca MotoGP trip
« on: July 22, 2013, 10:55:31 AM »
It was a l-o-n-g day starting at 5:30am feet up and throttle on. Met my buddy and his wife on his Gizzer Glide and off we were. Started in Camarillo, CA and took the 101 freeway all the way up to Salinas. As freeways go the 101 along the California coast up to Santa Barbara is hard to beat on an uncrowded Sunday morning especially when there are lots of like minded motorcyclists headed your way. My buddy likes a smell-the-roses pace which does mean sight seeing is better as you spend less time looking for Johnny Law. I wish I was a better writer, better able to decribe the rolling terrain with hills covered in vineyards in wine country and glimpses of the ocean here and there. Some days I as I look upon some special view as I ride through the beauty of California I think to myself, "I live here!"

First stop was San Luis Obispo for gas then breakfast at the Apple Farm restaurant which is a worthwhile stop near the freeway. Back on the road and through more wine country and then the big expanses of agriculture as the turn off at Salinas approaches.

Once off the 101 the stream of motorcycles changes to a flood. The motorcycles are routed onto a separate road, sent through the bumpy beat-up old roads of Fort Ord to finally arrive at the dirt parking lot. On big bikes the parking lot can be a challenge. Off camber, loose gravel and silty 'moon dust' a couple of inches deep. I swear somewhere is a guy who bought an adventure bike just for that once a year parking exercise.