Author Topic: New Guy on the Forum  (Read 3007 times)

Offline WiConnie

New Guy on the Forum
« on: August 25, 2011, 12:49:57 PM »
Hey guys….newbie here.
Germantown, Wisconsin.
Just took delivery of a 97 dark green Concours with 14K on it. All records, adult owners.  Original owner bought the bike then got married. Every couple of years he would bring the bike out, take it in for service, ride it a few days and put it away. He then sold it to his brother who put about 10K then bought a Harley. So here I am with a really clean, bone stock Concours. Paid $2700.00 for it and think I got a pretty square deal. I’ve got 2 daughters in college (cha ching) so I can’t make any grand plans for mods and will try to live with it as it is.

I got into motorcycles back in the early 80s with a Honda CB750F Super Sport. Rode the wheels off it then sold it and life moved on. A few years ago I bought an early 80s POS Honda CX500, fixed it up and sold it. Then did the same for 7-8 more of them. Finally purchased a 1983 CB1100F Super Sport that needed a lot of love and did a complete restore. Engine overhaul, forks, brakes, carbs, nothing went untouched. There is a wonderful bunch of guys over on the Super Sport site that I would not have been able to pull off the rebuild if not for them. I sold it this spring to pay for a summer semester for one of my daughters.

One of my CB buddies bought a Connie a couple of months ago…I rode it last week along with his ST1100. Honestly, I really liked them both but the Kawasaki fit my budget plus the low miles and being in very good shape helped with the decision.  (So did selling the boat and a project CB750F that I had picked up cheap and got running nice.  :))