Author Topic: New member, new ZG1000 build  (Read 5671 times)

Offline Lonestar Cruzer

New member, new ZG1000 build
« on: November 29, 2016, 02:44:33 PM »
Howdy from the South y'all. I traded my little Grom for a 2003 ZG1000 on 11/11/16 (plus some cash to get her right).

About me: I'm a small business owner in the small town of Ennis, Texas. I have background in auto mechanics, truck driving, and construction.

About her: She's been through a little bit. She has a decent amount of fairing damage, a broken mirror strut, a decent oil leak coming from a blown gasket under the starter, and seriously neglected brakes. The little bit I rode her getting her home I could tell she still has a lot of life left to live, and I'm gonna do my best to give her every mile she wants to run.

Build status: She's in pieces right now. Pulled the carbs, air box, alternator, starter, water pump, and radiator. It was at this point I finally found the oil leak. I've gussied her up a little bit in true Texas style. Matte black truck bed liner on the fairings (gotta empty the tank to paint that) with matte white accents. I replaced her mirrors with some less expensive ZX style mirrors, switched the orientation so L is on R and R is on L, and they're inverse for a more aggressive look. The boots were carefully trimmed and bonded with the factory mirror brackets, but I'm making molds to fabricate pieces that will replace the mirror brackets and reinforce the outside of the nose fairing around the turn signals. Adjusted her valves this morning. LEDs in the gauge cluster to replace the burnt out bulbs (Blue for backlight, color matched for indicators / warnings). Did the coolant res relocate, I won't be running her naked but I'd rather lift the seat than bend over to check it. Already fixed the brakes front and rear. Waiting on gaskets and O-rings to come in to put her back together and get on the road.