Author Topic: Visited the BMW dealer last Saturday  (Read 9209 times)

Offline Awaz

• Arena
Visited the BMW dealer last Saturday
« on: October 17, 2011, 08:51:46 AM »
I visited a Triumph/Ducati/Yamaha dealer and a BMW dealer yesterday. The Triumph dealer was Donelson cycle at St Louis. I was wanting to see up close how a Speedmaster looks and so also a Scrambler. My nephew was checking out some vstars. The experience was not great. The person in the floor lost interested with us the moment we said we are just checking out the bikes and do not intend to buy it right at this time. And will not let us test drive anything. I was thinking 'you got nice bikes, but I will go somewhere else if I ever want to buy one'.
Then we went to a BMW dealer (in St Louis) - this is my first time. I was thinking the BMW guy will be probably as cocky as the Triumph guy. But it was completely opposite. He showed us all different kinds of bikes. Showed a 1600GT they were just taking out of crate. Offered us to take a 1600GTL out for spin. I declined though as I was running out of time. Beside the bike looked too big for my test. What surprised me though was that as soon as I sat on a R1200RT, the bike felt like I belong on it ! It probably is not good of a performer as my C14, but it just felt so right ! The right amount of height, the right amount of weight for me. I originally thought of it (before buying my C14) but dismissed it because of its air cooled engine and did not quite liked how the engine stuck out. But I was so surprised how much I liked when I swung my leg over it. Then he had us look at a few 1200GS. Those felt awesome too. I will have to go back with lot of time to test drive a few. Wish I had a extra kidney though.
2016 Ducati Scrambler
2008 C14

Son of Pappy

Re: Visited the BMW dealer last Saturday
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 10:17:10 AM »