Author Topic: My Jeep Cherokee / Corvette engine swap project. (Current update)  (Read 34956 times)

Offline jamiemac

Thought some folks on here might find my little project kinda interesting.

I turned 50 this year, & with the numbers creepin up on me, I wanted to do something I've done for other folks, but never for yours truly. Build a custom vehicle for myself. A little background, I worked as a mechanic for about 20 years after high school, except for a 3 year stint as an MP at Ft Bragg, NC. My health took a huge crap in 2001, & now I'm pretty much a dude that tries to keep busy, but I'm pretty slow compared to my younger days.

I became a Jeep enthusiast, because it gets me in the Utah back country, where I'm no longer able to hike. As a way to keep life interesting, a good bud and myself, head out there twice a year, and escape.

My first Jeep purchase was an 01 Cherokee, and I did pretty good on that deal. They were, and still are cheap. The Cherokee weighs 3000 pounds. Very lightweight compared to many more modern SUVs. I've had quite a few Jeeps since, and fixed up a few to resell, & have become kind of the local expert on XJ and ZJ Jeeps. I still have the 01, because it's a very nice looking, and clean example, and I do some pretty hairy stuff in it, with the intentions of getting someplace interesting. I don't really wheel for the sake of wheeling, although I know it's a lot of fun. Just trying to preserve the vehicle. Some folks actually go wheeling & intentionally try to break their rig. That's not me at all. LOL