Author Topic: intelligent heated clothing controller - update  (Read 1783 times)

Offline julianop

intelligent heated clothing controller - update
« on: September 25, 2013, 01:05:58 PM »
I thought I'd drop a comment in here (the original discussion was in the "C10 technical" thread) to report on my work on an intelligent heated clothing controller.

I have spent some time using my Gerbing system, and sure enough, I get broiled in my own juices at stop lights and at low speed, and need a power boost at high speed, especially when it is misty/foggy. I also experience high drain when used in conjunction with my Hella driving lights and heated grips, evident by fluctuation in the headlamp intensity.

I am working on the simulation of the power controller circuitry. Things are looking good, though I may not manage have prototypes ready for testing this winter season, as originally anticipated; my day job is keeping me very busy. I will try.

Philosophically, I am focusing on robustness and reliability in the design: I want this to be the equipment somebody will choose for their journey to Alaska. I am putting in strong, self-resetting  overload protection so that the system will protect itself without the need for fuses (fuses are always necessary to protect wiring, of course, but the electronics should be the first line of defense).

I am also planning on having this unit configurable for power control for LED lighting as well (a good use for unused channels). I was thinking along the lines of full power for high beam (main beam to us Brits), mid power for DRLs, and lower power for use with low beam (dipped beam). It could also be a headlamp modulator or a brake light modulator, if desired.