Kawasaki Concours Forum

Concours 1400 (C14) FAQ => C-14, aka Concours-14 GTR 1400 => C14 HOT Topics Index => Topic started by: VirginiaJim on May 19, 2013, 08:04:58 am

Title: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on May 19, 2013, 08:04:58 am
This thread will contain information on the Tire Pressure Monitoring System and a link to all related board activity related to that near and dear subject.  Unless otherwise indicated, this information applies to the first generation of sensor (08-13) that can have it's battery changed.  The second gen sensors are epoxied in and can't be changed...yet.  Also, the second gen sensor will not fit the 90 degree valve stem some of us have been using on the first gen sensors.  The second gen sensor requires a new nut to attach it to the rim.  Make sure you or the dealer order one when replacing a first gen sensor.

TPMS Facts

Links (some of these links contain redundant information)

http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13807.15 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13807.15)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13609.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13609.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13556.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13556.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13526.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13526.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12933.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12933.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12760.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12760.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5404.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5404.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11289.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11289.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12147.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12147.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12044.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12044.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12003.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12003.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11877.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11877.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11706.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11706.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11113.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11113.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10513.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10513.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10301.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10301.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10333.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10333.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9446.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9446.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9458.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9458.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9278.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9278.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=8112.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=8112.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=7168.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=7168.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6071.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6071.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6324.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6324.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6100.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6100.0)
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5974.0 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5974.0)
http://www.gtr1400.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=4032.0 (http://www.gtr1400.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=4032.0)

Will be continued...only down 50 pages from the initial landing zone...
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Drugless on June 09, 2014, 04:02:21 am
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Conrad on June 09, 2014, 04:43:41 am
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.

No adjustments are possible. Accuracy is not what these are about. Fill your tires with air and use a known good tire gauge then see what the reading is on your display. If that drops more than a few lbs at a time then you know that you have a problem. 

Does that work better for ya Sparky?
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on June 09, 2014, 05:07:01 am
How do you get the tire gauge through the valve stem?  Must be pretty small.  I imagine it might rattle around some as well.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: garfield1974 on June 09, 2014, 05:42:04 am
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.

I checked readings with couple of gauges and they all show up to +- 0.2 bar difference compare to GTR reading.
I consider that results really, really good.  ???
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on June 09, 2014, 05:53:43 am
No adjustments are possible. Accuracy is not what these are about. Fill your tires with air and use a known good tire gauge then see what the reading is on your display. If that drops more than a few lbs at a time then you know that you have a problem. 

Does that work better for ya Sparky?

Quite... :)
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Drugless on June 09, 2014, 02:35:22 pm
Just seems weird that I can pump my tyres to 40 psi at the service station only to have them read 32psi when I pull away,
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: DGOLD on June 09, 2014, 02:54:01 pm
I believe the TPMS are temperature corrected to a degree and if it is a warm day the portable sensor will read higher. I know that when I fill the tires at around 70 Fahrenheit then the TPMS read the same
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: 2talltim on June 09, 2014, 02:58:00 pm
add this one to the list.

If your replacing the old style sensor with the new style make sure you order the new nut. they are not the same and the new one will not come with one.

Found that out today at the dealer, tried to have a new sensor installed and it was a no go. Had to order the nut and will try again in a couple days.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: B.D.F. on June 09, 2014, 03:38:49 pm
That does seem like something is way off. My TPS sensors are w/in one pound of pressure or so cold, and when the tires warm up the displayed pressure goes up 1 or 2 additional PSI. I have never even heard of anyone having TPS sensors as far off as yours sound. And what makes the whole thing suspect is that they are both off that amount- it makes me think the gauge you use to check them manually may be faulty.

Brian

Just seems weird that I can pump my tyres to 40 psi at the service station only to have them read 32psi when I pull away,
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Drugless on June 11, 2014, 04:45:45 am
I always go to the same service station to check my pressures (unless I'm on a ride) it's not a big deal, I'm just a bit odd like that.
I've done as advised and used an external gauge and used the tps readings as a guide line only
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: twowheeladdict on June 11, 2014, 07:19:22 am
If you have ever had a flat before TPMS, and after TPMS, you will really appreciate having it.  To me it is now a critical item and will be adding aftermarket TPMS to my other touring bikes.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: connie14boy on June 11, 2014, 07:25:45 pm
The TPS and ABS are the 2 best safety features of this bike, and have already saved my sorry arse more than once. I won't be riding another bike without them. My TPS is always within 1 lb. of my tire gauges, and I ride with the TPS screen as my default setting.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: badf85 on December 22, 2014, 08:29:10 pm
 Can you get rid of the tire pressure error with a reflash of the ecu. Gonna get the sensors replaced under warranty as soon as the tires are worn out. Bought my new 2013 just in October and the rear has never worked and the front gives a low battery ever time I restart. Thinking about a reflash anyway.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on December 23, 2014, 04:13:57 am
As far as I know....no.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: gPink on December 23, 2014, 04:46:01 am
Guhl reflash does not affect the tpms, dealer or somebody with a KDS-3 could deprogram the ecu if that's what you want.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on December 23, 2014, 05:44:24 am
I'm quite certain the dealer won't do this.  They might lose their franchise.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: gPink on December 23, 2014, 06:37:50 am
why?
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Deziner on December 23, 2014, 06:56:29 am
I, personally, would never disable anything that could be considered a safety item for someone else. In today's litigious society, in the event of an accident, the opportunity for a law suit to arise is all but guaranteed.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: jimmymac on December 23, 2014, 07:04:20 am
I hate this, I really do. I can't fish through 20 different threads to try and look for an answer. I've had this bike for 5 years and have never seen this question answered.
Can I just put a standard valve stem in my Connie wheels and do away with all the dash clutter?
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: gPink on December 23, 2014, 07:20:27 am
I hate this, I really do. I can't fish through 20 different threads to try and look for an answer. I've had this bike for 5 years and have never seen this question answered.
Can I just put a standard valve stem in my Connie wheels and do away with all the dash clutter?
Yes.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: gPink on December 23, 2014, 07:36:27 am
I, personally, would never disable anything that could be considered a safety item for someone else. In today's litigious society, in the event of an accident, the opportunity for a law suit to arise is all but guaranteed.
It's a factory farkle.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Deziner on December 23, 2014, 07:51:02 am
It's only a factory farkle until the Widow Jones hires Dewey, Screwem, and Howe to represent her her in her suit against the Big, Bad Kawasaki dealer that "altered" her dearly departed husband's motorcycle.

 What an individual chooses to do to his or her own motorcycle is one thing, what a dealer does is entirely different
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: VirginiaJim on December 23, 2014, 08:02:07 am
That's exactly right..

I hate this, I really do. I can't fish through 20 different threads to try and look for an answer. I've had this bike for 5 years and have never seen this question answered.
Can I just put a standard valve stem in my Connie wheels and do away with all the dash clutter?

I don't see why not.  The hole is approximately 8mm.  Anything larger won't fit.  Course you could just let the batteries die and continue on.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: jonathan on July 07, 2015, 07:36:10 am
Can you get rid of the tire pressure error with a reflash of the ecu. Gonna get the sensors replaced under warranty as soon as the tires are worn out. Bought my new 2013 just in October and the rear has never worked and the front gives a low battery ever time I restart. Thinking about a reflash anyway.

Not necessary. Once the batteries are dead the display disappears completely from the dash.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on September 12, 2018, 04:28:28 pm
update to add B.D.F.'s 'no tire removal necessary' method for TPMS removal, for battery replacement, if your tires are brand new....

http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=16850.msg206925#msg206925 (http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=16850.msg206925#msg206925)

Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: jimmymac on September 13, 2018, 08:17:49 am
And in case anyone is wondering, yes, you can replace the sensors with plain ol' rubber valve stems. The dash never gives me crap anymore.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: lather on September 14, 2018, 07:05:35 am
Not necessary. Once the batteries are dead the display disappears completely from the dash.
I think this is not quite correct. When the batterry is completely dead I think you get --- but no low battery warning.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: fartymarty on September 14, 2018, 07:29:56 am
When the battery is completely dead I think you get --- but no low battery warning.

As one that has actually run the TPS battery all the way down before finally replacing it, that is correct you get 3 dashes, and no low TPS battery warning.
Title: Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
Post by: Freddy on September 21, 2018, 05:53:42 pm
 :doh:   In the interests of accuracy and precision, you get F -- -- or R -- -- as the case may be.   :chugbeer: