Kawasaki Concours Forum

The C-14, aka Kawasaki Concours-14, the new one :) => The Bike - C14/GTR 1400 => Topic started by: Jgiacobbe on June 02, 2019, 06:18:18 pm

Title: Error code 24, speed sensor : SOLVED
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 02, 2019, 06:18:18 pm
The F1 light on my new to me 2012 C14 is on. Reading the code it says error 24, speed sensor. Is this a wheel speed sensor or a sensor on the output shaft of the trans? I did a search but didn't turn up much. This was the only code displayed. I have not tracked down the cabling for the wheel sensors yet to ensure it is all in place.

That being said, I don't have an ABS warning light on and the speedometer/odometer works.

Thoughts?
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Freddy on June 02, 2019, 06:56:08 pm
It's the sensor on the trans output shaft. 

If it were a wheel seed sensor it would be a Bxx code.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 02, 2019, 07:13:50 pm
Thanks for clearing that up.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on June 02, 2019, 07:27:27 pm
Not sure which FSM you are using, but I have a 13 up and a '08-'10, both are pretty specific, and tell you how to inspect that speed sensor, using Ohm /Volt meter, and external 10ohm resistor, and also volts etc.. check the electrical section, the tests are pretty easy...

as this was an ex-LEO bike, they may have had a cruise control unit, spliced in on that harness, in that area.. and resultingly may have snipped the signal wires from the cruise, which may be seen when you examine that 3 wire harness to the sensor..

let me know what you find, or if you need additional Instruction on the testing.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 06, 2019, 06:30:41 pm
Nothing that complex. Wires are intact. Lots of gunk in that area. Cleaned around it and pulled the sensor and cleaned it too. Put it back and the error is gone.

That was easy.

Edit: Never mind. Error came back. New sensor shipped today anyway.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on June 06, 2019, 07:06:22 pm
Nothing that complex. Wires are intact. Lots of gunk in that area. Cleaned around it and pulled the sensor and cleaned it too. Put it back and the error is gone.

That was easy.

Edit: Never mind. Error came back. New sensor shipped today anyway.

what FSM do you have? It is very descriptive in trouble shooting that sensor...

let me know, I'll send you the test procedure for making sure it's bad... $$$$ is not a way, I know, but you can't return lectrical parts...

shoot me an email/pm with email addy..

 while you are at it, and waiting, remove the battery, scrub the terminals and connectors with sand paper, charge the battery fully on a "manual" charger, (not a tender charger), and also clean the frame ground points... abrasively.. you need a fully charged batt, that is in good shape, to continue.. if you buy a new batt, make sure to charge it also, on a manual battery charger, to make it fully active, and responsive.. this bike relies on the battery for everything..
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 13, 2019, 09:26:28 pm
Getting back to this. Got the little y harness to test input and output voltage of the sensor. That all seemed okish. Output voltage seemed like it was low but my manual also stated 2 ranges which seemed weird to me. When I put the bike in first on the center stand and read the output voltage with the bike idling it was 2.245 volts. When I had it sitting still it was in much lower like .045v. Input voltage was 11.04v. Just out of the 9-11v range.

That led me to look at the cabling. I looked for the blue with yellow wire, and found it going to a box under the seat in a plug in the middle of three. I assume it was the same wire but when I unplugged the connector and tried a continuity test from the two plugs it didn't test as connected. Am I wrong, are these not the same color, blue w/ Yellow stripe? I don't do well identifying wire colors, I'm a little bit red/green color blind. I did verify continuity on both sides of that crimp and then put some liquid electrical tape where I cut away some shrink wrap.
(https://i.imgur.com/9Gj9xNd.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/6daYFfb.jpg)

Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on June 14, 2019, 12:53:09 pm
Not quite following wha you were testing, and how, i.e., what section in manual you were following..

testing that actual sensor itself can be done like "below"
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on June 14, 2019, 01:03:06 pm
don't assume "wires by color" at remote or other points of the bike, are the "same circuit"... they are NOT....
you were messing around with the relay box, not good.. don't do that.

those have nothing to do with the speed sensor.

that wire you were messing with at the relay module is a wire that goes to the high beam....so... don't do that.... probing the solid state relay box, and also the ECU, without tracing the actual runs can cause catastrophic $$$


OK;
went and looked, and now I see what you were attempting... I can't tell how you made your "pigtail connections", so I don't know what you were reading.. but i see the voltage thing, and the different readings with the wheel still, and wheel being rotated by hand...

it may be wonky looking because the actual sensor is at fault, usually the actual wire and volts etc., to the "device" 99% of the time are fine, the "device" it self is what needs testing... use the picture I posted above, that is the way to inspect it disconnected and off the bike...

I'm in the middle of replacing a starter on my truck, I'll come back and go thru it again when I finish...
Battery + volt meter + a resistor hooked up...easy inspection.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 14, 2019, 03:46:21 pm
I don't think it is the sensor. I put a new onin with no change. Still have error code 24. The next step was getting the Y harness reference in the service manual to check the voltages.

I'll promise not to go probing any more wires without physically tracing them.

I charged the battery and cleaned the ground connections near the battery on the frame.

At thus point I am going to move forward with fixing the other items and seeing how things are before I am ready to button it back up.

Also, RH engine mount back is cracked. I have a replacement. LH engine subframe mount at the front near the radiator was snapped. Just received the replacement. Both those appear to be damage from stresses transfered from the police bathroom bars. Actual frame looks fine. There is a dent in a cylinder on the left front of the engine above the oil filter. Not sure what that part is. Will get a photo in a bit. Police bikes do appear to take a beating. Seat, hand grips and peg rubbers are all pretty worn.

Otherwise seems to be this error code, leaky valve cover gaskets and minor wear and tear.
(https://i.imgur.com/hmmsU6B.jpg)

Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on June 14, 2019, 06:44:44 pm
that would be the "oil cooler", looks ok, I wouldn't freak over it, but it's hit the ground now that you say what you've just noted...

I don't see it as "crashed", but a parking lot "oooops" would do those things.  All the Cop Bikes had crash bars, your's didn't... and I know they pulled them off... because, they would "talk"... ;) ;)

The bike is running, albeit with an error code, but it's running... I dig a bit more and send it to ya, and maybe we can get that error code cleared, and fixed.

oh, send me a schematic, or sketch, of you "pigtail Plug thingy" you made, noting which wires were used for what, in the process, and I can apply that to what I know about the circuits, ecu, and meter gage unit, in combo with the actual sensor output, in Bike on (not running), Bike on running, and anything else.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on June 14, 2019, 11:48:38 pm
It was a kawasaki available part. Throttle Sensor Setting Adapter #1: 57001-1400.
It is just a male and female plug of the type on the speed sensor with a pigtail off each wire for a probe. I probably could of gotten the connectors from Eastern Beaver to make one myself but it would of cost the same and taken 10 days to arrive.

Yeah, nothin told me it had crashed. On side has a scuff on the fairing that tells of a low speed oops. The other parts were just cracked, both where the crash bars would attach. I'll getting back into it Sunday. Going riding on the DL650 tomorrow.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 28, 2019, 04:01:14 pm
I now have additional information. Three weeks ago I buttoned everything up, mounted a new tire and ignored the F1 light and took it for a nice 400 mile jaunt. It was beautiful. One day I will be able to enjoy it even more without the error light and LCD taken over by the F1 error.

On this ride I noticed that my gear position indicator was often wrong and would vary reading of what gear I was in even though I had not shifted. I might be in 4th but it will read that I am in 3rd. A bit later without having shifted it may read 5th.

Another item is the KTRC light is always on. Not sure if this is normal.

So today, when I finally had free time again, I removed some left side plastic and started investigating again. I went through the diagnostic in the manual to check the input and output of the speed sensor. Input was 11.10V, manual says 9-11 volts. Output was 4.67v. Manual says more than 4.6V.

Manual says to check the wiring harness and refers to a diagram. I happen to notice the next section is for troubleshooting the gear position sensor, so I flip over the page and see the diagram for that circuit. Both have one item in common, junction connector 8.

So a little reading and a look at the big diagram at the back of the book tells me that junction 8 appear to be where 4 wires of the same type color all come together somewhere on the bike. Now the million dollar question is, where the frick is junction connection 8 location on the bike? I'm pretty sure that is where my problem now lies.


Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on July 28, 2019, 04:57:01 pm
"JUNCTION 8" is one of the many common "tie points" of ground wires/circuits, they are all over the place on this bike.. all of them connect grounds from various points, and combine them to be sensed thru the 'canbus' system..before going back to the "main" ground junction. I'll look thru the book for you particular model, and also "junction 8"
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Freddy on July 28, 2019, 05:04:40 pm
This is what they look like after the tape & cap is removed.

(https://i.imgur.com/mAgRL11.jpg)
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 28, 2019, 05:09:35 pm
I found it and checked it for continuity. It checks as good so I don't think that is it.

It is right by where the speed sensor and gear indicator sensor tie into the harness.
(https://i.imgur.com/o1SLFMU.jpg)

Everyone replied while I was trying to figure out how to embed the photo.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on July 28, 2019, 05:45:14 pm
I think you still have one or more 'missed' COP connections, that were pulled off, and may be the culpret, still..
Joint 9 ties into 2 other circuits also, been going thru the diagrams since I last posted, the front signals, and some other things are tied via inner connections, from J9 to J8..KTRAC is also somewhere in there.. I think they had a cruise control installed on that bike at some point, and don't know which one they used.. but I'm sure it's a logical point of 'searching' for that wire that was tied in, for speed sensing, KTRAC, and gear as you are searching now..
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 28, 2019, 06:58:39 pm
On my diagram it lists item 5 as metering box with a blue/yellow stripe wire. Is the meter unit the relay box? The relay box on top of the ECU has a blue w/yellow strip wire that looks to have been spliced. With ECU and Relay box unplugged I tried to test connectivity on that wire and got nada. If that is the correct wire then that is my issue, signal doesn't actually reach the ecu/relay box from the sensor. The harness for checking puts the multimeter in parallel so that wouldn't show during that test.

 This is from me looking at the diagram on page 17-42 on the 25-19 manual. No where else in the book do I see anything referred to as a
 meter unit.

A double check of the main diagram at the back shows a split on the bl/y wire that goes to both the metering unit and the ECU.

Edit: doh, is meter unit the gauge cluster? That could explain the speedo working but still having an error.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on July 28, 2019, 07:14:06 pm
sorry, my eyes are shot for today, as I had severe reactions from pollen riding last week..
I'll look in morn, and post back up.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 28, 2019, 07:24:55 pm
No worries. I'm not going back out to the garage anymore tonight. I do have a little bit of work in the morning but then have the day free hopefully to get this sorted.

Thanks for double checking me.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: ginzburg on July 28, 2019, 08:14:00 pm
The Ktrac light is normally off. It turns on when it is disabled.

My oil cooler looks pretty much exactly the same from the crash bar hitting it. I looked up how much it cost and decided it was fine. The MSRP is $580. What could possibly be in this thing? I don't know what could go wrong with it.

I also had to replace a motor mount. It did not come with the right sized washers installed. They are very thick and you might not know what they are supposed to like if you didn't know what to look for.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 28, 2019, 09:39:49 pm
Thanks Ginzburg.

After studying the wiring diagram for a bit and re-reading the section for error 24 in the manual, I think I have a handle on my next steps. I'm going to get my father to come over and help. My colorblindness is enough that I cannot correctly identify the wires at the ECU. With the ECU disconnected we will check continuity for the 2 wires that run from the sensor to the ECU. The grounds are good so it is one of the other that is damaged. I am assuming for now the KTRC light is on because I either don't know how to turn it on or off, or because without the speed sensor reading the unit is lacking needed data.

When you turn on/off KTRC, does anything show on the LCD? Given that my LCD is always taken over by the FI error I would not know. I did decipher the two circles with the partial arc representing the amount of linked braking.

I'm looking forward to getting to the bottom of this and enjoying my C14.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: ginzburg on July 28, 2019, 11:27:57 pm
KTRC is always armed when you turn on the bike. The light comes on, but it turns off after rolling a short distance. I don't know the exact details of that. It seems to go off at the same time as the ABS light. I believe there is no indicator for it on the LCD unless it is armed and actually operating.

Each time you turn on the bike, you need to press the KTRC button for a few seconds until the KTRC light turns on. The KTRC light solidly on means that it is disarmed.

The ground I was very suspicious of when checking the grounds for the FI error is located under the gas tank.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 29, 2019, 09:05:31 pm
Well, if the blue/yellow wire we located going to the ECU is the correct one, then there is a break in the wire. The bl/y wire at the cluster tested through to the sensor but the bl/y wire at the ECU didn't.

Pulled the tank and windshield off. The tank so we could see more of the harness and the windshield to get to the back of the gage cluster. Cover around the harness under the tank is all intact. Going to dig a little more and do more continuity testing to try and isolate the bad spot.

From what I can see, most of the police stuff was slices to the accessory wires or to the harness closer to the lights.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 30, 2019, 06:19:37 pm
The mystery deepens. Started tracing wires in the harness. No evidence of rodents. Unwrapped it in a couple places to find the wire I am looking for, which is the elusive blue/yellow stripe wire that goes to the ECU from the speed sensor. Well, you know how sometimes you get what you are asking for but it totally might not be what you want?

I found the blue with yellow stripe wire taped inside the harness near the ECU. This raises a very new question though. The wiring diagram only shows one blue with yellow stripe wire going to the ECU. So where does this one that is in the ECU plug go since it doesn't go to the speed sensor. The one my finger is touching is blue with yellow stripe and does connect to the speed sensor.


(https://i.imgur.com/ulZ9ty5.jpg)
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on July 30, 2019, 07:13:23 pm
well, wee've spken about after production spliced in wires.. and how they relate I just tuned in, but I''ll let Mr Ginberg continue to give content to attempt assisting..please understand the difference of a C14 owner from '07 thru to today, that has ripped his bike apart, to give an answer, vs well, someone that bought a bike last year.in The morning, I will revisit, and analyze further.. a lot of "CONjecture" has been tossed out so far, I think you can weed thru it a bit, and hopefully find the final "answer".
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 30, 2019, 08:35:22 pm
MoB, I found the culprit. You were correct, it was due to after market police accessory wiring. The little blue/yellow cable I found is the speed sensor output cable for the ECU. It had been unplugged and tapped against the harness. It was well hidden. The other Blue/Yellow wire is for one of the fuel injectors.

We discovered in place of the blue/yellow wire in the other ECU connector (the one of the left side of the bike) a different wire/pin had been put into the connector. The wire had spd-lmir printed on it. It appear the fuzz did have another piece of equipment inline with the speed sensor. Whoever de-fuzzed the bike just unhooked that connection and taped it against the harness.

So after lots of looking at all the diagrams in the book we realized the order of the wires in the diagram matched the order in the connector. So we verified them one by one just to verify we were not imaging that. Then we checked the diagram and traced the other BL/Y wire and verified it goes to the injector. That pretty much cinched it so we put the tank back on and jumpered the loose BL/Y wire to the loose SPD-LMIR wire that came from the ECU. Turned the bike on and turned the rear wheel with my foot and the error went away. Also the KTRC light started flashing like it was waiting to engage after the bike moved, similar to ABS startup. I could press the KRTC button and change it to off.

So one final question because I have not done a permanent connection with my wire. The BL/Y speed sensor wire has the original female pin for the plug on the end. Anyone know how to remove the pin from added pin from the ECU plug so I can put this original one back? I'd rather do that than splice these two wires together. If anyone has a link to the correct pin extraction tool that would be awesome.

Could of been done a couple hours sooner but we did lots of double checking of the wires because I did not want to brick that ECU at all. I checked everything in the diagram and on the bike and then would have dad double check me.

MoB, thanks for pointing me to this bike. It was a pain to get this last issue tracked down but I am so psyched now. Also this means I don't have to show up at your house some random weekend asking for help tracking it down. Now I can show up and we can go riding.




Edit: in the last post you can see a bullet connector toward the bottom of the pic. This is the SPD-LMIR wire that replaced the Speed sensor wire in the ECU plug.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Michelle on July 30, 2019, 10:48:51 pm
So one final question because I have not done a permanent connection with my wire. The BL/Y speed sensor wire has the original female pin for the plug on the end. Anyone know how to remove the pin from added pin from the ECU plug so I can put this original one back? I'd rather do that than splice these two wires together. If anyone has a link to the correct pin extraction tool that would be awesome.

This is probably the easiest part. When you pull out the plug you can see a small white tab in the centre on one side and two on the outer edges on the opposite side. Press down on the single one with a small screwdriver or such. It will click and the two on the other side will pop up. It is now unlocked. Pull the un needed wire, being careful not to dislodge any other wire and then insert the blue/yellow in its place. Check that it is all the way home and push the two white tabs back in. It should click into the locked position.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Freddy on July 31, 2019, 04:09:09 am
  :goodpost:   Well done folks.   :banana :chugbeer:
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: maxtog on July 31, 2019, 05:35:18 am
Indeed.

So, what was with that?  Cruise control maybe?  More restrictive speed limiter?  External data logger?
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on July 31, 2019, 07:31:23 am
No clue what was there. Maybe speed indicator input for rolling radar or speed overlay for a camera.

If I have free time this evening, I'll try to pop that pin out and swap the OE pin/wire back in.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: maxtog on July 31, 2019, 03:04:35 pm
No clue what was there. Maybe speed indicator input for rolling radar or speed overlay for a camera.

Ah, didn't think of those!

As a side comment, I think Kawasaki's wiring is very good and reliable.  It seems the only problems reported end up being when someone has tampered with it (to add sensors, or additional equipment, or moved the bundles and didn't tie it back the same, etc).
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on August 03, 2019, 10:39:26 am
Unlocking the pin from the plug was easy as described. Got to ride the bike error free for the first time last night. Quickly decided I should not leave the dash on the mileage readout.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: gPink on August 03, 2019, 11:18:36 am
Unlocking the pin from the plug was easy as described. Got to ride the bike error free for the first time last night. Quickly decided I should not leave the dash on the mileage readout.

 :rotflmao:
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on August 03, 2019, 01:52:41 pm
That's fantastic Jeremy... I'm proud of you, to stick with it, and follow up...

(Some times us Old Men do have a sense of what "could" be the root cause...)

Short of me having the bike in front of me, to go over just as you did, I was betting there was something that the Outfitter's "spliced in" for the "cop stuff", that was not rectified when all the equipment was removed.

Great job man, now go play and enjoy your bike without watching the silly dashboard flash at ya... cooolllll

Ride safe,
Oh, now that you have that all rectified, might be time to ride a couple days, then send off your ECU to my pal Steve, in Fla., for his Mountain Runner Premium flash... it is well worth it, and will make this bike feel like the monster that it truly is inside... Turn around time is less than a week, probably like 4 days for you in Va.
it impressed the hell out of me, and I don't impress easily...
Unleash the Kraken....
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: maxtog on August 03, 2019, 02:00:58 pm
Oh, now that you have that all rectified, might be time to ride a couple days, then send off your ECU to my pal Steve, in Fla., for his Mountain Runner Premium flash... it is well worth it, and will make this bike feel like the monster that it truly is inside...

+1
Ride it for a while, until you are comfortable, in all styles (especially fast).  Then flash it and be amazed.
 
Quote
Turn around time is less than a week, probably like 4 days for you in Va.

He is?  Yet another of us Virginians? I must have missed that (I went back and skimmed all posts- saw nothing still).  Where in VA?
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on August 03, 2019, 02:03:35 pm
Richmond,
he's part of the Richmond ADV gang,  I miss those guys every day....fun bunch of peoples...
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: maxtog on August 03, 2019, 03:41:02 pm
Richmond,  he's part of the Richmond ADV gang,

Ah.  I am biking to Richmond tomorrow morning! (rt.5)
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: MAN OF BLUES on August 03, 2019, 05:13:16 pm
Ah.  I am biking to Richmond tomorrow morning! (rt.5)

We affectionately call that the "5 and Dime" ride, out 5, cross on the ferry at Jamestown, then along to the Surry Restaurant for brunching, then back to Petersburg into R'town via 10.  really nice morning ride. Ferry is free... and a pleasant cruise...

Ya made me look, because I hate it when places close up, and I say "stop here"... I don't see that the old Surry restaurant is shown any more.. but I would suggest a cool spot...
https://surryseafoodco.com/

it's not to far after you leave the ferry, and make a right turn off 31... looks like good food.. I dunno, we always were riding thru before they opened...
let me know if it's good... it should be, right on the water like that...
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Jgiacobbe on August 04, 2019, 09:28:15 pm
Yep, out of the west end of Richmond. I don't do the 5 and dime. I feel it is a boring ride. I did it for a new years ride maybe 3-4 years ago with a random group from Richmond. Broke from the group after a dude went down on the approach to the ferry and broke his arm. Sitting there just over the crest of a hill blind to traffic coming from behind me, and a drink guy walks out of his house and starts lecturing me about people riding too fast.

I don't ride with random large groups anymore. Usually I ride west to 56 and 39.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: maxtog on August 04, 2019, 10:33:44 pm
We affectionately call that the "5 and Dime" ride, out 5, cross on the ferry at Jamestown

I have done that many times, but my main path is 64 to 5, then the reverse... at least for Mom visits. Otherwise it would tack on another hour.  Tunnel is usually a nightmare, and 64 is boring as hell, or congested as hell, and sometimes slow as hell.  But, overall, it is a LOT faster than going around the Earth to get to 5.  460 is super BORING and just a series of never-ending speed traps in every small town.

Yep, out of the west end of Richmond. I don't do the 5 and dime. I feel it is a boring ride.

You think 5 is boring??  To me, it is only boring if there are too many slow people in front of me...

Quote
I don't ride with random large groups anymore.

I never have.  Now THAT would be boring :)  And/or dangerous, too (there are a lot of strange people out there, most of whom seem far less "safe" than I, and far more interested in "impressing" others).  I prefer alone or with 1 other (who I know/trust, AND with whom I have in-helmet communication).

Oh, I had an "FI" error on the way home... first I have had in years.
Title: Re: Error code 24, speed sensor
Post by: Rubber_Snake on August 06, 2019, 11:38:30 am
Side note (may be interesting or not) but our CHP bikes ALL had speed limiters.  I suspect all or most prior police bikes will too.  The reason was because with the added weight of all the police equipment, the bike became a bit unstable at (now I don’t remember the exact speed) around 145ish.  At those speeds, the bike could and would start a weaving scenario that could be a bit unsettling.  When our instructors were testing the prototype ‘08s, they took it on the interstate and kicked it up.  It started a nasty weave and scared the sh*t outta the rider.  When they brought it back and told the Kaw/Dealer reps, they said something like “Oh yeah, we forgot to mention that... The finished bikes will have a speed limiter.” 

This should be a warning to people who put a top case on the rack and stuff the cases with a lot of weight.  Adding a passenger could make things worse.  Just something to be aware of.  I had a lot of weight in my top case and side cases and never experienced anything like this.  (I never hit 140+ though). Of course, who would go 140+ loaded with gear and a passenger on the back?  I hope nobody...

Note:  At the time, I don’t believe the bike was actually ever sanctioned for police work by Kawasaki, as a private dealer had bid the bike against BMW and HD, but that’s another story...