Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 1536 times)

Offline Cruizin

Introduction
« on: May 28, 2015, 01:33:16 PM »
Hi,
Ive been riding for a few decades now, mostly commute, weekend and some distance touring, not a very fast sport rider.
The bikes Ive owned run the gamut from a 69 Triumph Daytona 500, 76 Kawasaki KH 400 bunches of Hondas, PC 800, GoldWing, Yamaha Ventures, Kawasaki KLRs and lots more...I like bikes in all varieties except feet forward factory psuedo "choppers"

Anyway, Im selling my KLR and possibly looking at a Concours Ive read lots of good things about them and a few negatives as well.
If the Concours is anything like the KLR in its "lets make this model widely adaptable and affordable" design then I like it right off the bat.
I test rode a 2004 last week, used dealer model and it was mostly what I thought it would be except my toe/shoe kept rubbing on the fairing lower, the stock bars are too low for my taste (easy $150 fix) and the center stand struggle. Much harder to hoist up than either my old Goldwing or Ventures so weight isnt the whole story. Despite all of those little complaints I may go ahead and snag one of 2 they have at the stealership. Im just really fed up with private sellers advertising barely running heaps as "almost new". Driving all over the county to see yet another untitled non runner "ran great last year"  is a huge waste of time. :-\

One of the models at the dealer is a 87 with 56k on it for $2999 and it looks better kept than the 04 with 36k for $3699.
Is there any serious issue that would prevent those in the know from buying an 87 model?
Thanks for your time and input.

Offline Deziner

• Arena
  • Phoenix
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 02:11:39 PM »
Welcome to the forum! I'd love to answer your question but I don't know  anything about the 1000.
God does not subtract from a man's life the number of hours spent riding a motorcycle