Author Topic: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14  (Read 638 times)

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2018, 12:43:11 am »
I wonder if registering the Schrader ID number to the bike's KIPASS ECU with KDS would work?
The Schrader EZ sensors come with an  ID and also you can overwrite them with the number on your kawasaki sensor  or if you know the number registered on the KEYPASS ECU just Write one of those  on the new EZ sensor and that is it , you do not need to pay to the Stiller to do any programing with the KDS
« Last Edit: November 27, 2018, 05:11:11 pm by gildaguz »
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2018, 01:10:59 am »
After you have the sensor programed there are two ways to test it before you mount it in the tire and go for a ride to confirm that it work, it can be done with the stock Kawasaki sensor or the generic sensor, just hold it in your hand and standing next to your bike with the ignition on get a magnet and rub the sensor around, it will wake up the sensor and show in he display, will show no pressure but will display the low tire warning message, the other way that wake it up is securing the sensor with electrical tape to your bicycle rear tire and while holding the bicycle up  next to the motorcycle spin the tire, this procedure is also good for when you replace the stock sensor battery, it is good to confirm that it work before you put every ting back together
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline Freddy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • Country: au
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2018, 01:28:54 am »
Thanks GG.  A magnet to wake the sensor up eh?  Never thought/heard/imagined that - well done.

I don't quite follow the earlier post about ID number.  Are you saying they come with/out an ID number?  I can see the 8 digit number in your pix.  I don't have access to the tool to change the Schrader sensor ID number to the original Kaw ID number but I do have KDS to delete an old sensor ID number and add a a new ID number - the one printed on the Schrader sensor.
The best substitute for brains is .............what?

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2018, 04:46:17 am »
I wonder if registering the Schrader ID number to the bike's KIPASS ECU with KDS would work?
sorry, I forgot that when I answered your question , yes it come with a 6 digits ID that can be overwrite  and  for you that have that tool you can  write that number to the KIPAS ECU and it must work
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline lather

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1293
  • Country: us
  • And I think my spaceship knows which way to go...
    • Louisiana Chapter MSTA
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2018, 09:40:06 am »
Good find but what I wonder is will it trigger the bogus low battery warning in a year just like the OEM?
Nothing worse than having your balls go missing.

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2018, 09:53:42 am »
Good find but what I wonder is will it trigger the bogus low battery warning in a year just like the OEM?
soon or later it will, it use a battery too
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2018, 10:22:53 am »
I haven't had any issues with my sensors after I replaced the batteries in them and that's been awhile ago, probably close to 4 years now at least.


As far as photos go, the easiest way is to dial down the picture size on the phone or camera.  If you have Windows 10, you can resize through the photo viewer by right clicking on the image.  You'll see a resize button and from there you have options.
  "LOCTITE┬«"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.

Offline olie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #22 on: November 27, 2018, 11:30:17 am »
can this scanner be used to clone the programmable sensors ??

  https://www.amazon.com/Autel-TS401-Activation-MX-sensor-Programming/dp/B00AERMVYC
13 Blue Connie, 8/4/2013
16 Green Versys 1k
11 Red Vette

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #23 on: November 27, 2018, 02:03:24 pm »
It does the same but with a different sensors brand, they work in the same frecuency, that is a good deal compared with this one
https://www.bartecusa.com/tech400pro
It is the one I used to do mine,
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #24 on: November 27, 2018, 02:24:10 pm »
How would it connect to the bike?
  "LOCTITE┬«"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.

Offline B.D.F.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: 00
  • It's only really cold if you fall down in it.
    • C-14 farkles you almost cannot ride without.
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2018, 03:41:48 pm »
Excellent info., thanks! And that tool is inexpensive enough to break even just replacing the sensors on a couple of bikes!

Brian

It does the same but with a different sensors brand, they work in the same frecuency, that is a good deal compared with this one
https://www.bartecusa.com/tech400pro
It is the one I used to do mine,
Homo Sapiens Sapiens and just a tad of Neanderthal but it usually does not show....  My Private mail is blocked; it is not you, it is me, just like that dating partner said all those years ago. Please send an e-mail if you want to contact me privately.

KiPass keeping you up at night? Fuel gauge warning burning your retinas? Get unlimited peace and harmony here: www.incontrolne.com

Offline Freddy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • Country: au
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2018, 03:45:40 pm »
How would it connect to the bike?

My understanding is that it doesn't connect to the bike but clones the stock sensor by writing its ID number to the Schrader sensor with the 'tool.'
The best substitute for brains is .............what?

Offline maxtog

  • Elite Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7792
  • Country: us
  • 2011 Silver
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2018, 04:00:06 pm »
Those interested will probably will need more information about the mounting/bracket.  Does the sensor need an air connection to the valve stem for reference to atmosphere, or does it have a self-contained vessel it compares against?  It looks in your photo like it is not air-connected to the stem, its just hanging there off that bracket you made.  (This could be a $ opportunity for someone to sell Concours "kits" with programming service and pre-made brackets.)

As an aside- without a reference to atmosphere, it cannot have an accurate reading for various elevations.  But I am thinking it is too small a difference to matter with this?  I played with some calculations and it seems it would be only about 1.5 psi difference between sea level and 3000ft.  Does the OEM compare to atmosphere?  (It looks like it probably does).
Guhl ECU flash, Canyon Cages front/rear, Helibars risers, Phil's wedges, Grip Puppies, Sargent World seat-low & heated & pod, Muzzy lowering links, Soupy's stand, Nautilus air horn, Admore lightbar, Ronnie's highway pegs, front running lights, HID, helmet locks, Garmin Zumo 450, Sena SMH10, Throttle Tamer, MRA X-Creen, PR4-GT, Scorpion EXO-T1200,  Tourmaster Flex II

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #28 on: November 27, 2018, 05:19:56 pm »
Those interested will probably will need more information about the mounting/bracket.  Does the sensor need an air connection to the valve stem for reference to atmosphere, or does it have a self-contained vessel it compares against?  It looks in your photo like it is not air-connected to the stem, its just hanging there off that bracket you made.  (This could be a $ opportunity for someone to sell Concours "kits" with programming service and pre-made brackets.)

As an aside- without a reference to atmosphere, it cannot have an accurate reading for various elevations.  But I am thinking it is too small a difference to matter with this?  I played with some calculations and it seems it would be only about 1.5 psi difference between sea level and 3000ft.  Does the OEM compare to atmosphere?  (It looks like it probably does).
The sensor is enclosed inside of the tire and read only the pressure inside of the tire, same as the OEM i in this system the atmospheric pressure do not affect the reading but the temperature does
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: us
Re: Generic TPMS sensor on my 09 C14
« Reply #29 on: November 27, 2018, 05:22:43 pm »
My understanding is that it doesn't connect to the bike but clones the stock sensor by writing its ID number to the Schrader sensor with the 'tool.'
That is correct, for the ECU is like if the old OEM sensor still there, no programing needed to the bike ECU
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain