Author Topic: Harbor Freight Horns and install...  (Read 1880 times)

Offline shredran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2019, 08:17:37 pm »
Gabriel, I bought a pair of these today per your video! After purchasing though I realized I might not be able to put mine where yours are :(, because I installed LED Pathfinder headlights, which have a module that gets 3m tape'd to the BOTTOM of the piece you removed to to the install of the horns. Can you watch this quick video and see what I mean, then tell me if U think I'll still have room to put the horns there? Skip to 4:20 and see what I mean--the module for headlights get stuck to underside of towel flange: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YeEU0PyCtc  and let me know your thoughts! Seems like an amazing mod.

Offline Gabriel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Country: 00
  • Near Galveston
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2019, 10:56:03 pm »
Gabriel, I bought a pair of these today per your video! After purchasing though I realized I might not be able to put mine where yours are :(, because I installed LED Pathfinder headlights, which have a module that gets 3m tape'd to the BOTTOM of the piece you removed to to the install of the horns. Can you watch this quick video and see what I mean, then tell me if U think I'll still have room to put the horns there? Skip to 4:20 and see what I mean--the module for headlights get stuck to underside of towel flange: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YeEU0PyCtc  and let me know your thoughts! Seems like an amazing mod.

It hard to tell exactly how large that driver is but I would think you would have enough room to to make it all fit.
Since you are not modifying the bike in any way there is no risk in trying...
Note; There are led's that don't use a driver and allow you to use the factory boot should you ever need to change.


Offline shredran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2019, 02:39:37 pm »
That's good info to have! Wish I had it at time I bought these LEDS lol! I happened to be across the street from a harbor freight yesterday when I saw your post and quickly went and bought the horns. Cpl follow ups:

1.) Do they work in conjunction with the stock horn? Or do they completely replace the stocker?

2.) "I will replace the relay mount bolt with a shorter 5mm bolt. (Yeah, it's too long)"----Any idea what length I should get?

3.) I'm not as knowledgeable as you are in this but, but I'm guessing your comment of, "Wiring is straight forward with a 10 amp fuse and inline holder near the battery. That plastic looking stand off is a piece of delrin." means I'll need one of these: https://www.alliedelec.com/product/bussmann-by-eaton/bk-hht/70150687/?&mkwid=s44jGetPk&pcrid=30980760979&pkw=&pmt=&gclid=CjwKCAiAs8XiBRAGEiwAFyQ-esCIxVyBI5v5bSoSIpXQJaQexBHew-_a5kMQrBk8wqDOKYCSTwh2GRoCVxEQAvD_BwE     AND will obviously need the fuse which I have already. If that's correct, where exactly does the horn relay area / fuse area need to be accessed from? Is it the fusebox underneath the seat? I just haven't tapped into anything there--the only mods I've done involved using the provided accessory ports on the bike and that was easy enough to crimp and splice into for other accessories.

Thanks in advance for any additional insight you can offer me!


Offline Gabriel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Country: 00
  • Near Galveston
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2019, 04:58:09 pm »

Use this type of fuse holder;It's waterproof and you can get these in both the small spade fuse or the large. (your choice)



You use the wire from the oem horn, it's long enough to reach the area shown.
The wiring diagram that is included with the horns is what you go by.
The oem horn wires trigger the relay only. (get a test light and determin which is positive when you push the horn button.
You connect the fuse to your battery positive post (one side of the fuse holder connects to the positive battery terminal and the other connects to a length of of minimum 16 gauge wire) the other end connects to the "30" terminal of the relay. Just pull the battery cover off and fish the wire through, no need to remove anything else. (keep it neat and use tie wraps if needed) Just make sure the fuse is located close to the battery and not the horn end.
Supply the ground from the relay to the location shown in my picture "Right here" or any bolt on that bracket.
.
I don't know what length of bolt to use but it's not important as long as it's adequate.
These relays are not waterproof so mount it in the fashion which I did and you will never have an issue.
Any other questions just ask, no need to include any quotes...


Offline shredran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2019, 11:46:33 pm »
Thanks so much Gabriel, I’ll take a stab at this ASAP! I should be fine considering I’ve done the valves on this bike and didn’t F anything up....just dont have a ton of experience in the realm of electrical work! I’m REALLY dreading doing steering stem bearing maintenance one day tho. I’m on an 09’ w/ ABS and about 30k miles.

Offline Gabriel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Country: 00
  • Near Galveston
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2019, 03:56:02 pm »
Thanks so much Gabriel, I’ll take a stab at this ASAP! I should be fine considering I’ve done the valves on this bike and didn’t F anything up....just dont have a ton of experience in the realm of electrical work! I’m REALLY dreading doing steering stem bearing maintenance one day tho. I’m on an 09’ w/ ABS and about 30k miles.
Be sure and report back...

Offline CDII

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: us
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2019, 07:39:43 pm »
I did the Stebel on my last C14. Fit nicely inder the right side where you have these Harbor Freighters.
The problem was it couldn't be heard by anyone but me. I'm looking for a beter way to get them to project to the front . Any ideas?

Offline maxtog

  • Elite Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8110
  • Country: us
  • 2011 Silver
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2019, 08:01:14 pm »
I did the Stebel on my last C14. Fit nicely inder the right side where you have these Harbor Freighters.
The problem was it couldn't be heard by anyone but me. I'm looking for a beter way to get them to project to the front . Any ideas?

I have the Stebel on the inner right and have used it more than a few times and people seem to hear it quite clearly.  I am glad *I* wear earplugs or earphones under the helmet.  I run it WITH the stock horn.  It is true it would be better if it projected out more, though.... there just isn't any place for it.  A few people somehow mounted it to replace the stock horn, but I think that is too dangerous for the radiator and wouldn't last as long (lots of weather down there).
Shoodaben (was Guhl) Mountain Runner ECU flash, Canyon Cages front/rear, Helibars risers, Phil's wedges, Grip Puppies, Sargent World seat-low & heated & pod, Muzzy lowering links, Soupy's stand, Nautilus air horn, Admore lightbar, Ronnie's highway pegs, front running lights, all LED, helmet locks, RAM Xgrip, Sena SMH10, Throttle Tamer, MRA X-Creen, BearingUp Shifter, PR4-GT, Scorpion EXO-T1200,etc

Offline CDII

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: us
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2019, 06:33:04 am »
Thats a good idea maxtog. I may try running both horns as well.
How does it sound?

Offline maxtog

  • Elite Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8110
  • Country: us
  • 2011 Silver
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2019, 04:24:30 pm »
Thats a good idea maxtog. I may try running both horns as well.
How does it sound?

Well, the stock horn, as you know, is puny.  But it is faced forward and less obstructive.

Since the Stebel is running via a relay and its own power feed (don't EVER try to run a Stebel power through the horn switch!!!) there is no reason to NOT leave the stock horn also connected.  It is there, it works, it is "free", it adds more volume, more coverage, AND redundancy in case the airhorn fails for some reason (mine never has).

Honestly, I can't hear the stock horn at all... because the Stebel is so loud.  But I am pretty sure it is working.  Now, if I were standing 20 feet in front, perhaps both can be heard, I still expect the Stebel to be much louder, even then.  Probably should test that at some point, but it obviously requires two people :)
Shoodaben (was Guhl) Mountain Runner ECU flash, Canyon Cages front/rear, Helibars risers, Phil's wedges, Grip Puppies, Sargent World seat-low & heated & pod, Muzzy lowering links, Soupy's stand, Nautilus air horn, Admore lightbar, Ronnie's highway pegs, front running lights, all LED, helmet locks, RAM Xgrip, Sena SMH10, Throttle Tamer, MRA X-Creen, BearingUp Shifter, PR4-GT, Scorpion EXO-T1200,etc

Offline MAN OF BLUES

  • Arena
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2709
  • Country: 00
  • WHISKEY.Tango.Foxtrot.
Re: Harbor Freight Horns and install...
« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2019, 07:26:28 pm »
using the Stebal or even the Wolo version from harbor freight, simply using the horn 'beep" circuit, to power the Wolo BadBoy, or same horns.. is kinda a no brainier, you get your OEM meep meeps, combined with the Honking wakup beiotch.. blast   whats wrong wit dat?

30 YEARS OF KAW.....