Author Topic: FI Error disabled my Connie.  (Read 18502 times)

Offline 225

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #30 on: December 15, 2011, 09:41:34 pm »
Thanks for the replies.

They said that it is either the wiring harness, ECU, or a bad ground somewhere. If by Tuesday I don't hear good news, I am going to bring it somewhere else.

So I take it I am the only one with this problem? Just for the record, I also own a supermoto, and a Honda CB1000R. I love them both, but my Connie is a excellent bike.

I hope they hurry up so I can ride it.

Offline 225

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #31 on: December 15, 2011, 09:42:44 pm »

Offline stevewfl

  • Arena
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4268
  • Country: 00
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #32 on: December 15, 2011, 10:03:58 pm »
Thanks for the update!
“The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” St. Augustine

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #33 on: December 16, 2011, 04:09:50 am »
So I take it I am the only one with this problem?

I think we've had one other that had an F1 error and it was something to do with one of those things....  It may have been in the old forum, though.
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2020 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home, 2016 RM traded in.

Offline Supatramp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: us
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #34 on: December 16, 2011, 07:52:50 am »
They said that it is either the wiring harness, ECU, or a bad ground somewhere. If by Tuesday I don't hear good news, I am going to bring it somewhere else.

Good luck bro', hope it works out with a happy ending.


Offline So Cal Joe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 636
  • Country: us
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #35 on: December 16, 2011, 08:21:29 am »
Strange things happen. In another post I told about a buddy who has 600 miles on his bike and the final drive had to be replaced because there was no fluid in it. That's the only I heard of like that so maybe your is a 1 time thing also. Hope you get it back soon,

If you are born once you will die twice
If you are born twice you will die once

Offline jonathan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 340
  • Country: ca
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #36 on: December 16, 2011, 08:30:32 am »
Thanks for the replies.

They said that it is either the wiring harness, ECU, or a bad ground somewhere.

So I take it I am the only one with this problem?

Nope. I had the same problem. My bike died after showing the "FI Error" message a few times. I usually got it to restart, but the last time I had to have it towed to the dealer. The diagnostics showed a number of different errors and the mechanic (technician?), after looking at the wiring diagram, realised that these codes all had a common wire. He tracked it down to a faulty connector on the ECU and replaced the wiring harness and the ECU under warranty. It only took a couple of weeks though.

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #37 on: December 16, 2011, 09:50:25 am »
I knew it!
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2020 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home, 2016 RM traded in.

Offline Spanky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
  • Country: us
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #38 on: December 16, 2011, 09:51:42 am »
Good luck bro', hope it works out with a happy ending.

I always hope it works out with a happy ending too   ::)

Offline C1xRider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 836
  • Country: us
  • Where did all the posts go?!??
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #39 on: December 19, 2011, 12:48:00 pm »
225,

There was a fellow on the COG forum from the Las Vegas area who had problems with a cylinder cutting out on a new '11 last spring.

It took the dealer a month or more of trial and error (mostly trial, as in swapping parts) before they finally tracked it down to a connector at the ECU that had a couple of the pins in the wiring side connector that were not pushed in all the way.  The pins hadn't locked into the connector housing.  Once they fixed that, the guy said the bike was fine.

Could be something as simple as that, and depending on which wires, could cause all kinds of havoc.  Be sure to tell your dealer to check for this as well.
--------------------   BACK UP YOUR DISKS PEOPLE!! -------------------------------
2012 K1600 GTL 8), 2010 C14 ABS, 2002 HD FXSTDI, 2000 XT350, 1998 C10, 1983 V65 Magna, 1978 HD SX250

Offline 225

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #40 on: December 20, 2011, 09:11:21 am »
My dealer had to order a cord for the KDS system to hook it up to the computer. Once they have that cord. We will know what the problem is.

Offline Jeremy Mitchell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1756
  • Country: 00
  • COG#9899
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #41 on: December 20, 2011, 12:01:48 pm »
My dealer had to order a cord for the KDS system to hook it up to the computer. Once they have that cord. We will know what the problem is.

If they needed a cord to diagnose a problem it looks like your C14 is the first (or one of the first) that they have worked on.  Good luck.
Keeping the economy going, one tank of fuel and two tires at a time.

Offline stewart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #42 on: December 20, 2011, 12:42:23 pm »
Maybe its a case that the C14 is such a quality bike, they've never had a need for the cable.
Stewart
2010 Concours14
COG 9380

Offline Jeremy Mitchell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1756
  • Country: 00
  • COG#9899
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #43 on: December 20, 2011, 12:44:48 pm »
Maybe its a case that the C14 is such a quality bike, they've never had a need for the cable.

Also a possibility.........
Keeping the economy going, one tank of fuel and two tires at a time.

Offline 225

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: FI Error disabled my Connie.
« Reply #44 on: December 20, 2011, 12:56:41 pm »
I agree. I think the C14 is the best sport touring bike ever built.

They build thousands a year. Not every single one is going to be perfect in mass production. Hopefully it will get fixed and I can ride it more.