Author Topic: Onboard computer display mod  (Read 33824 times)

Offline PH14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1137
  • Country: 00
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2012, 08:13:52 am »
One of the problems with the FTP (Flash to Pass) switch is that in heavy rain it actuates the high beams by itself.  Anyone looking at this switch used by Kwak would be horrified as to how it's put together.  One needs to slather it with dielectric grease to keep it functional in heavy rain as the housing is not very waterproof.  I don't know if it's been improved in the 10 models on up but with the 08/09s it has this problem.

We get a question every so often on that phenomenon every so often.  For that reason, I wouldn't use it and instead go with an after market waterproof switch of some sort.

I have heard of that problem Jim but have never had it happen on mine, despite how much heavy rain I've ridden through. I have a 2009 and wonder if they had fixed the issue by the time they made mine. It seems that the majority of my long trips have included rain of Biblical proportion and often have animals crowding two by two around my bike at rest stops.

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10773
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2012, 08:20:56 am »
You're lucky then, about the switch, not the animals.  I took my switch apart once to grease up the FTP and it hasn't happened since.  My switch had huge blobs of solder.  Whomever put that together knew nothing about soldering.  Probably the same twit that aimed my headlights.
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2016 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home.

Offline gildaguz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
  • Country: us
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2012, 11:41:41 am »
I own my 09 for 1 year and did ride it for 10K  some times during heavy rain during summer here in south Florida and never have that kind of problem with the FTP switch
2009 Non ABS Concours Black
2006 Honda VTX 1300 C candy Orange
2004 Honda Shadow  Sabre 750
1979 Suzuki 185 all terrain

Offline marku8a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Country: 00
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2012, 02:25:43 pm »
Looks like a great Mod! I will be doing this now that I see how simple it is.

If anyone finds a switch they like, I sure would like to hear about it.

Mark
2009 C14 Red
Fly_ectomy, K&N Filter, Oxford Heated Grips, PC V, Full Area P Exhaust
How far can a person run into a forest?

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10773
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2012, 02:39:46 pm »
I think in the old forum someone came up with a weatherproof push button switch.  We'll have to keep looking if that's what you want although the switch outlined here is fine as well.
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2016 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home.

Offline marku8a

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Country: 00
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2012, 02:40:08 pm »
Now that I think about it, I would also be interested in using the FTP (Flash to Pass) switch. If someone has details about that Mod, I would appreciate learning about it.

Mark
2009 C14 Red
Fly_ectomy, K&N Filter, Oxford Heated Grips, PC V, Full Area P Exhaust
How far can a person run into a forest?

ang

  • Guest
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2012, 04:15:26 pm »
Wiring done, just deciding on a switch or the flash to pass. Was sweating on attaching the wire to the elect. board on the display, practised a few times on a scrap board on a computer I had lying around, turned out fine.

Offline PH14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1137
  • Country: 00
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2012, 07:07:39 pm »
You're lucky then, about the switch, not the animals.  I took my switch apart once to grease up the FTP and it hasn't happened since.  My switch had huge blobs of solder.  Whomever put that together knew nothing about soldering.  Probably the same twit that aimed my headlights.

 :chugbeer: I had the same guy!

Offline BudCallaghan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: us
  • Rider proficiency determines worth of horsepower
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2012, 12:30:14 am »
Thank you Lord Frederick III

First thing I did this morning when I read your post was to look through my box of electrical odds and ends to see if I had a momentary push button switch.  I found one and immediately proceeded to follow your excellent instructions to accomplish a task that Kawasaki incorporated in the '10 and later models.  Here's a picture of my solution for a switch location, it's the red button.  There's a lot of room inside the housing where the switch is located.  The switch is from Radio Shack that came in a package of three I bought when I needed one for a hidden garage door opener switch.
Never let schooling interfere with your education or your ambition.

Offline Kwikasfuki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Country: gb
    • Uk GTR Forum
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2012, 01:54:12 am »
That's what I'm thinking of doing as well Bud. Do you have to remove the the grips to get to the housing? How are the wires routed from the housing?

Offline BudCallaghan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: us
  • Rider proficiency determines worth of horsepower
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2012, 03:14:53 am »
That's what I'm thinking of doing as well Bud. Do you have to remove the the grips to get to the housing? How are the wires routed from the housing?

No need to remove the grip.  Simply remove the two screws from the housing and it will split and can be removed from the handlebar.  I used just one wire from the soldered connection on the back of the circuit board to one of the terminals on the switch.  To ground the switch I soldered a very thin copper wire to the switch's other terminal and ran it under a plastic piece inside the other side of the housing where it contacts the handlebar.  This can be better understood when you remove the housing for a visual assessment of my explanation.  There's plenty of room to run the single wire next to the gang of wires where they enter the housing.  If you are unable to decipher my ground wire instructions, let me know and I'll pull it apart, take a picture and post it.  I did it this way because it seemed a waste to run a separate ground wire alongside the other wire to a ground on the frame when the handlebar is right there and is certainly a ground. 

My long departed paternal grandfather who was born in 1871 would surely be aghast if he knew I was sending assistance to an Englishman.  My own father, born in 1910 wouldn't think much of it either.  I'm so damn liberal though, I'd even help an Orangeman.  Strange that both of the aforementioned gentlemen thought of themselves as Irishmen even though they were born in Canada and Chicago respectively.  Neither of them ever set foot on the Emerald Isle either.  I have been there back in the early 60's and shortly after arriving decided that I didn't like it and promptly set sail for England where the girls were prettier and food was better.  Never thought I'd ever praise English cuisine because it's horrible, but it is better than Irish fare.  I, on the other hand, always considered myself an American until some 30-40 years ago when I determined myself to be a citizen of the world.  The advent of the computer has certainly had an influence on this consideration as a perfect example of this is happening right now.  You and I are exchanging information as though we were in adjacent rooms when we're actually a continent and an ocean apart.  Then consider who else is reading this drivel, could be just about anyone, anywhere. 
Never let schooling interfere with your education or your ambition.

Offline Kwikasfuki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Country: gb
    • Uk GTR Forum
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2012, 03:29:35 am »

My long departed paternal grandfather who was born in 1871 would surely be aghast if he knew I was sending assistance to an Englishman.  My own father, born in 1910 wouldn't think much of it either.  I'm so damn liberal though, I'd even help an Orangeman.  Strange that both of the aforementioned gentlemen thought of themselves as Irishmen even though they were born in Canada and Chicago respectively.  Neither of them ever set foot on the Emerald Isle either.  I have been there back in the early 60's and shortly after arriving decided that I didn't like it and promptly set sail for England where the girls were prettier and food was better.  Never thought I'd ever praise English cuisine because it's horrible, but it is better than Irish fare.  I, on the other hand, always considered myself an American until some 30-40 years ago when I determined myself to be a citizen of the world.  The advent of the computer has certainly had an influence on this consideration as a perfect example of this is happening right now.  You and I are exchanging information as though we were in adjacent rooms when we're actually a continent and an ocean apart.  Then consider who else is reading this drivel, could be just about anyone, anywhere.

 ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for the info, will try when my new switch arrives

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10773
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2012, 04:28:19 am »
My long departed paternal grandfather who was born in 1871 would surely be aghast if he knew I was sending assistance to an Englishman. 

There's more than a few of us around here... ;)

I thought the last time this was posted that a push button switch was mounted in the housing, although my memory fails me for the exact mounting point.  Is the switch weatherproof?
 
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2016 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home.

Offline Bosco

  • Arena
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: us
  • USA
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2012, 08:45:23 am »
This seems like a great mod. Does anyone sell kits, or do we need to get the parts at Radio Shack.
1999 Concours Sold
2009 Concours ABS

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10773
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Onboard computer display mod
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2012, 08:53:45 am »
There is no 'kit' as such being offered that I'm aware of.  You'd have to source the parts yourself.
"LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  2016 Indian Roadmaster, ABS, Cruise control, heated grips and seats 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology U.N.I.T is Back! 2008 C14 Moved on to a new home.