Author Topic: Is it my valve cover? HALP  (Read 11070 times)

Offline mikeeitup

Is it my valve cover? HALP
« on: August 19, 2014, 05:22:24 PM »
 Hey guys. I noticed my bike was smoking a few days ago on start up if I let it idle for about a minute. It was coming from the radiator area but smelled like oil. I took my side panels off and noticed right off that my coolant levels are not changed and that the lines seem to be perfect. I did notice that all behind the headers were dirty and covered with what looks like oil and dirt. I started up up and it was smokin pretty bad from that area but I can't locate where from. I am kinda new to this so I'm not 100% sure where I'm lookin. It looks like it is coming from the headers (probably from dripping on it). There are other threads about this but I figured I would post and see if there is any new input. Thanks! Ask me anything if you need more information to help me out.
Mike :-\
~Mike~
~2012 Black Connie~

Offline gPink

• Arena
  • MMVIII C XIV
Re: Is it my valve cover? HALP
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 06:57:13 PM »
The common oil leaks I know of are the valve cover gasket and the cam sensor o-ring.

Offline mikeeitup

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 07:17:18 PM »
Thanks! Yeah I took 'er apart and am overwhelmed. Gonna have my techie buddy help out. Hey I like your tag line. "...slowly...inexorably...sliding into the loving embrace of big brother" Holds true.
Mike
~Mike~
~2012 Black Connie~

Offline Gsun

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2014, 07:32:28 PM »
Most likely the cam sensor o ring.

Offline Daytona_Mike

• Arena
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2014, 07:38:03 PM »
Cam 'O' ring and some C10 valve cover caps and seals  will fix the valve cover.
Read this thread:
http://forum.cog-online.org/index.php/topic,52884.msg381297.html#msg381297
If you still have fuel in the tank, you are not lost yet
Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle

Offline Rhino

• Arena