Author Topic: Tire Pressure Sensors  (Read 13671 times)

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Tire Pressure Sensors
« on: May 19, 2013, 08:04:58 am »
This thread will contain information on the Tire Pressure Monitoring System and a link to all related board activity related to that near and dear subject.  Unless otherwise indicated, this information applies to the first generation of sensor (08-13) that can have it's battery changed.  The second gen sensors are epoxied in and can't be changed...yet.  Also, the second gen sensor will not fit the 90 degree valve stem some of us have been using on the first gen sensors.  The second gen sensor requires a new nut to attach it to the rim.  Make sure you or the dealer order one when replacing a first gen sensor.

TPMS Facts

  • Battery - CR-2032L/F 1N  (Panasonic 3v with tabs) Sourced from Digi-Key http:\\www.digikey.com 800-344-4539  Note that the batteries (lithium) cannot be shipped through the mail.  They have to come through a shipper like Fedex or UPS.  Shipping is dear ($13+).
  • Torx bit to remove screw in sensor so that the battery can be replaced - T8
  • The internal label on the board will peel off and will stick back on if you are careful
  • The sensors will not read until the bike has been in motion for several hundred feet
  • A 'dead' sensor may be revived by upping the pressure to 50lbs in the tire - only works (if then) if the sensor is brand new (could be an urban legend propagated by Kwak Central)
  • The pressure reading may or may not be accurate on the dash - double check tire pressure with an accurate gauge cold.
  • Be sure to caution the tire installer that the wheels have large sensors
  • New sensors have to be registered via the KDS3 tool (I think - have to check on that fact)
  • Totally dead sensors will not cause the screen to complain.
Links (some of these links contain redundant information)

http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13807.15
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13609.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13556.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=13526.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12933.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12760.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5404.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11289.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12147.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12044.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=12003.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11877.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11706.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=11113.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10513.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10301.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=10333.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9446.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9458.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=9278.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=8112.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=7168.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6071.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6324.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=6100.0
http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=5974.0
http://www.gtr1400.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=4032.0

Will be continued...only down 50 pages from the initial landing zone...
« Last Edit: April 14, 2016, 05:30:14 am by VirginiaJim »
  "LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.

Offline Drugless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: au
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 04:02:21 am »
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.
It's better to be thought of as a fool than to open your mouth and confirm the fact. (Like I always do)
Previous bikes-
  Yamaha FJ1200 ('85)
  BMW R1200RT ('05)

Offline Conrad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5725
  • Country: us
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 04:43:41 am »
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.

No adjustments are possible. Accuracy is not what these are about. Fill your tires with air and use a known good tire gauge then see what the reading is on your display. If that drops more than a few lbs at a time then you know that you have a problem. 

Does that work better for ya Sparky?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 05:18:51 am by Conrad »
Northern Illinois   Silverdammit '08 C-14 ABS

"Don't bother me with facts, Son. I've already made up my mind." -Foghorn Leghorn

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 05:07:01 am »
How do you get the tire gauge through the valve stem?  Must be pretty small.  I imagine it might rattle around some as well.
  "LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.

Offline garfield1974

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: hr
  • Kawaski GTR 1400 2008
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2014, 05:42:04 am »
Is there any way of adjusting the readings to make them more accurate.

I checked readings with couple of gauges and they all show up to +- 0.2 bar difference compare to GTR reading.
I consider that results really, really good.  ???

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2014, 05:53:43 am »
No adjustments are possible. Accuracy is not what these are about. Fill your tires with air and use a known good tire gauge then see what the reading is on your display. If that drops more than a few lbs at a time then you know that you have a problem. 

Does that work better for ya Sparky?

Quite... :)
  "LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.

Offline Drugless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: au
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 02:35:22 pm »
Just seems weird that I can pump my tyres to 40 psi at the service station only to have them read 32psi when I pull away,
It's better to be thought of as a fool than to open your mouth and confirm the fact. (Like I always do)
Previous bikes-
  Yamaha FJ1200 ('85)
  BMW R1200RT ('05)

Offline DGOLD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Country: us
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2014, 02:54:01 pm »
I believe the TPMS are temperature corrected to a degree and if it is a warm day the portable sensor will read higher. I know that when I fill the tires at around 70 Fahrenheit then the TPMS read the same
1995 c10(gone), 2001 c10(passed on to son),
2010 c14(current mistress)

Offline 2talltim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Country: us
  • 2008 C14
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2014, 02:58:00 pm »
add this one to the list.

If your replacing the old style sensor with the new style make sure you order the new nut. they are not the same and the new one will not come with one.

Found that out today at the dealer, tried to have a new sensor installed and it was a no go. Had to order the nut and will try again in a couple days.

Online B.D.F.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4734
  • Country: 00
  • It's only really cold if you fall down in it.
    • C-14 farkles you almost cannot ride without.
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2014, 03:38:49 pm »
That does seem like something is way off. My TPS sensors are w/in one pound of pressure or so cold, and when the tires warm up the displayed pressure goes up 1 or 2 additional PSI. I have never even heard of anyone having TPS sensors as far off as yours sound. And what makes the whole thing suspect is that they are both off that amount- it makes me think the gauge you use to check them manually may be faulty.

Brian

Just seems weird that I can pump my tyres to 40 psi at the service station only to have them read 32psi when I pull away,
Homo Sapiens Sapiens and just a tad of Neanderthal but it usually does not show....  My Private mail is blocked; it is not you, it is me, just like that dating partner said all those years ago. Please send an e-mail if you want to contact me privately.

KiPass keeping you up at night? Fuel gauge warning burning your retinas? Get unlimited peace and harmony here: www.incontrolne.com

Offline Drugless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: au
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2014, 04:45:45 am »
I always go to the same service station to check my pressures (unless I'm on a ride) it's not a big deal, I'm just a bit odd like that.
I've done as advised and used an external gauge and used the tps readings as a guide line only
It's better to be thought of as a fool than to open your mouth and confirm the fact. (Like I always do)
Previous bikes-
  Yamaha FJ1200 ('85)
  BMW R1200RT ('05)

Offline twowheeladdict

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1198
  • Country: 00
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2014, 07:19:22 am »
If you have ever had a flat before TPMS, and after TPMS, you will really appreciate having it.  To me it is now a critical item and will be adding aftermarket TPMS to my other touring bikes.
My Concours Travels:
2014 New England Tour http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=17336.msg212077#msg212077

Offline connie14boy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2014, 07:25:45 pm »
The TPS and ABS are the 2 best safety features of this bike, and have already saved my sorry arse more than once. I won't be riding another bike without them. My TPS is always within 1 lb. of my tire gauges, and I ride with the TPS screen as my default setting.

Offline badf85

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: 00
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2014, 08:29:10 pm »
 Can you get rid of the tire pressure error with a reflash of the ecu. Gonna get the sensors replaced under warranty as soon as the tires are worn out. Bought my new 2013 just in October and the rear has never worked and the front gives a low battery ever time I restart. Thinking about a reflash anyway.
1988 Kawasaki Concours C10 Red,2002 Concours C10, Silver 2006 Concours C10 Blue
2013 Concours C14 Blue,2015 Concours C14Green

Offline VirginiaJim

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10532
  • Country: england
  • I've forgotten more than I'll ever know...
    • Kawasaki 1400GTR
Re: Tire Pressure Sensors
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2014, 04:13:57 am »
As far as I know....no.
  "LOCTITE®"  The original thread locker...  #11  08-C14 EA FC ABS 46 Monitoring with cutting edge technology.  U.N.I.T is Back!  2016 Indian Roadmaster.